Welcome to Pottawatomie County

Pottawatomie County is an expansive county of 551,692
acres or 862 square miles. The northern portion of the
county is largely agricultural while many southern areas
consist of existing and planned developments.

The county contains several cities and towns including:
Belvue, Blaine, Duluth, Emmett, Fostoria, Havensville,
Louisville, East Manhattan, Olsburg, Onaga, St George,
St Marys, Wamego, Westmoreland and Wheaton.

Pottawatomie County is a growing county, population of
23,298 (KS Secretary of State 2016), with a continued
expansion of new construction in the housing markets and business sectors.

The county is diversified in its businesses

and industry and boasts an active Economic Development Program.
Pottawatomie County has a solid tax base and the 2nd
lowest mill levy in the state due in part to a County
government that believes in first-rate public services
balanced by fiscal responsibility. 

The county is home to several excellent school systems
including a High School nationally recognized for academics, two State Lakes and Tuttle Creek Reservoir.

          Scheduled Meetings:
  County Commission Meeting 7/25/16
  Planning Commission Meeting 7/13/16
Pottawatomie County 2016. All rights reserved.

Current Information
Gailand Road Closure
Beginning July 18, Gailand Rd between Hwy 63 & Shawguee Rd will be closed to through traffic due to road construction. Gailand Road will be closed 7/18/16 - 8/1/16, weather permitting.
Flush Road Closure
Beginning April 11, westbound US 24 will be reduced to 1 lane for construction of turning lanes at the Flush Rd intersection. Additional lane closures will take place throughout the project as needed. Flush Rd on the north side of US 24 will be closed 6/13/16 - 8/1/16, weather permitting.
County Burn Policy
Medical Reserve Core Volunteers
Pottawatomie County Health Dept is looking for Medical Reserve Core Volunteers medical & non-medical volunteers. Want to help your community by volunteering in a disaster or any time - Click here to learn more.
Emergency Alerts Now Available
Pottawatomie County will begin using the NE Kansas Notification System to communicate with citizens and businesses during emergencies and other critical events.
Residents are encouraged to register immediately to receive these alerts: Pottawatomie Emergency Alerts or by visiting NE KS Regional Emergency Alert System.
Individuals without internet access or a computer may contact the Pottawatomie Emergency Management Dept at 785-457-3358 to sign up for emergency alerts.
Zika Virus and Prevention
Marlatt/Junietta Extension Brochure
Complete Brochure: 2 page pdf - 1.14 MB
Page 1 - pdf - .5 MB
Page 2 - pdf - .7 MB (contains maps)